Dealing with Jealousy

Everything from your romantic relationship support to your best-friend disaster. Get the advice you need here.
Dealing with Jealousy «  » by Forfiwen
Okay so I've been talking to this guy for a few months now. Here recently we've decided to officially become a couple. Everything has been good and he has been so sweet. However last night we were talking and now I have some of my warning flags raised.

I already knew he was a little bit jealous. Although that's okay, a little bit of jealousy isn't a problem for me. However it started out I was talking about joining a fitness club called Curves. This is a workout place for women. He asked me if there were any male trainers, which there isn't. It's just women there. So I was teasing him about his jealousy. I told him he would have about died when I was taking my martial arts classes since I was the only woman in them. We joked about that. So I asked him if he was going to get mad when I signed up for martial arts again at some point. He joked about it at first, but I could tell this bothered him. When I inquired further he finally said that he didn't know if he could be with someone who wanted to take a class where I would be around all kinds of men like that. Needless to say, this took me by surprise. He said that me working with men didn't bother him, but that those classes really hit a nerve for him. I think it must be the physical aspect required, but he didn't really say. The most I could get out of him was when he finally said that to him, me taking those classes while we were together would be like if he took a job as a guy who greased up playmates. I asked him if something happened before to make him feel that way. He responded that he didn't like talking about things that happened in the past. So I'm assuming that's a yes.